Reflecting on Illinois

So this will be my final post as I have returned to Manchester after a year away.

It’s great to be back and see how Manchester has changed but it’s almost made it feel like studying abroad and Illinois never happened!

It was so sad mid august when all my friends in America went back to Champaign- facebook and snapchat was full of all my old pals together and I missed them all so much. But now having had a 5 month summer I’m feeling ready to get back into some kind of schedule and finishing my degree! :O

It sounds cheesy but I truly feel like I have grown as a person from studying abroad and especially from being in America. I am more open-minded, more confident and feel I can chat to anybody in any situation. At 21 I thought I wasn’t going to change much more as an individual but I have grown up a lot and for that I am particularly grateful for my time working, studying and travelling in the US.

For those of you in Illinois, I am so jealous, and for those of you applying I cannot recommend it enough! It’s an amazing campus filled with amazingly warm and inviting people and Chicago is unreal!

If I could give any advice to anyone studying abroad now or in the future; make the most of your time. Do everything, say yes to every opportunity, chat to everyone and anyone and throw yourself into situations out of your comfort zone, because it’ll be over before you know it.

“Regret for the things we did can be tempered by time; it is regret for the things we did not do that is inconsolable.” – Sydney J Harris (Journalist, Chicago)

— Aye

Leave Your Comment

